Purple kid pants

I have a pair of shorts all cut out and ready to sew, but the weather is back to cold and rainy these days so I knew shorts wouldn’t get much wear.  Then Es decided that she doesn’t like leggings or any other too-tight pants.  I’m guessing that this will be a short-lived preference.  But for now, I decided to sew some pants.  These are the Kid Pants from MADE using the flat front and pocket options.  I used the same basic pattern for  her pajama pants, here.

IMG_1806

These are designed to fit size 2/3 kids and they are perfect for tall and skinny kids.  I used Robert Kaufman 21 wale corduroy for the pants with a bit of Robert Kaufman London Calling lawn for the pocket lining.  Sadly you can’t really see the pocket lining, because this is such beautiful fabric.  A glimpse here:

IMG_1808

I contemplated putting the contrasting fabric on the outside of the pants but I’m trying to make more basic items that actually match with other clothes, so I restrained myself.  And both fabrics were so soft and lovely to work with.  I need to make more things out of this corduroy because it is absolutely lovely.  One yard looks to be enough to make these pants and a pair of baby pants.  Should we need some purple baby pants, that is.

Adding the pockets was fun, although I might try a different style for the next time.  And despite multiple attempts to pin and measure and check, the pockets ended up not quite matching.  Hopefully not too noticeable on a busy kid.  I really like the flat front option and next time I might try making adjustable elastic on the back.  They are quite baggy and should have room to grow (although I may increase the length a bit on the next pair).

IMG_1816

IMG_1824

And she paired them with a purple fleece this morning, because you can never have too much purple!

IMG_1847

5 thoughts on “Purple kid pants

  1. Pingback: More pants | lizzieville

  2. Pingback: Fall KCW Day 1: highwater pants | lizzieville

  3. Pingback: Debbie’s birthday dress | lizzieville

Leave a Reply

