Geraniums and baby socks

I can see why the geranium dress pattern from Made By Rae is so popular.  The top I made in April is one of Es’s favorites.  So I decided to make another one.  This is a size 3T with a bit of added length.  The top should fit for another year because it is roomy (her chest measurements are probably a 2T size).  I tried the View A flutter sleeves this time.

IMG_2114

The main fabric is Kaffe Fassett paperweight (in lime, I think) with some Kona cotton for the lining.  Between the fabric and the flutter sleeves this is a far more whimsical look than I’d normally pick.  But the flutter sleeves were actually quite fun.  The pattern suggests you finish the sleeves with a zig-zag stitch along the raw edge.  Unfortunately, my machine tends to do funny and not terribly presentable things with the zig-zig stitch.  So instead I cut an extra sleeve from the lining fabric and sewed the fabrics together along the outside edge.  This made a lining for the sleeve and left no raw edges.  I’m still wondering if I should have topstiched the edge.  I guess we’ll see after a washing.

IMG_2148

Last time I hand stitched the bodice lining.  I wish I’d done that here instead of topstitching.  The hand stitching definitely looks nicer, although the topstitching was definitely faster!  And Es picked out the buttons-  again, more whimsical than I would have selected.  But they were a lot less interesting than her other choices, which included buttons that looked like baseballs, glittery dragonflies, and large birds.  Fabric and notion shopping with a three year old is really quite fun, if not incredibly productive.  I love seeing what patterns and items she is drawn to as we wander the aisles.

IMG_2151

We visited a new spray park today and she was so thrilled by the entire experience that she was uninterested in doing any kind of posing for pictures.  So I got a lot of action shots:

IMG_2169

IMG_2160IMG_2149

This pattern has such a great fit.  I just love it.  I’m trying to figure out a way to make more for the winter.  Maybe in corduroy with no sleeves, to be worn over long sleeve tshirts?  For now, I just cut out another one for a friend’s baby.  I didn’t sew for Es when she was this size and there is something so fun about these tiny pieces!

IMG_2117

I’m about halfway done, hoping Es takes a nap today so I can finish it up and maybe make some matching shoes.  And in-between I’m working on some baby socks for our baby.  My first pair of socks and there have been some troubles.  Making the gusset on sock #1 was a challenge.  I’m off to bookclub tonight with some knitting friends, hoping for advice.

IMG_2118

3 thoughts on “Geraniums and baby socks

  1. Hi miss E! I’ve loved your latest posts!! They are all such beautiful projects… My favorite is this little dress and ohhhhbmy goodness, those little knitted baby socks!! There is no word for the extent of their adorable-ness! 🙂
    I just got back from a drawing workshop in NYC and saw a quilt exhibit in Brooklyn while I was there. Of course, I thought of you. 🙂
    Love an hugs to you and Es!

  2. Pingback: Birthday backpack | lizzieville

  3. Pingback: Made For Kids Month : Week 1 | lizzieville

Leave a Reply

