Baby countdown: fabric bowls

This project combines two of my favorite things: fabric scraps and baskets.

DSC_0329

This is the Nesting Fabric Bowls pattern from A Cuppa and a Catch Up.  I already had a similar pattern, used to make baskets here.  But this pattern includes a lot more options and fun details.  I love that it has a chart to allow you to create a bowl using any dimensions you pick.  And rather than using batting, which makes a rather floppy bowl, this pattern uses fusible fleece.  Which is some pretty fantastic stuff.

DSC_0373

This is the 6-inch bowl and I love the construction methods.  I was able to follow everything as written except that  I don’t have a walking foot for my machine.  I haven’t actually used one before, but I’m guessing that it might take care of the wiggles and wobbles that happened during my topstitching.

DSC_0369

Es is already having fun trying these out:

DSC_0330

I’m hoping to get a few more of these and another of Noodlehead’s divided baskets made before the baby arrives.  We’ll see!

2 thoughts on “Baby countdown: fabric bowls

  1. Pingback: Baby countdown: more baskets | lizzieville

  2. Pingback: Catching up : baby boy sewing | lizzieville

Leave a Reply

