J’s wallet

A few weeks ago I noticed that my husband’s wallet was starting to fall apart in a few places.  I thought it would be fun to try sewing a new one for his birthday.  I’d noted this great wallet by Cheri at You & Mie but needed a little more direction with sizing, etc.  I then found this wallet tutorial from Anna at Noodlehead.  I’ve used a bag and basket pattern from her in the past.  She does such a great job with her explanations and her construction methods are quite clever.  I ended up altering the inside pockets to be more like Cheri’s design as it better matched my husband’s current wallet.

wallet :: lizzieville.wordpress.com

Pattern:  The boy’s wallet tutorial from Anna at Noodlehead

Fabrics:  Robert Kaufman essex yarn dyed linen blend in black (exterior and card pockets), Robert Kaufman essex linen blend dusty blue (interior), and unknown green print (inside)

Modifications:  Altering the card pockets

wallet collage :: lizzieville.wordpress.com

I figured this was a trial run and I can whip up another one of these once I know what changes to make.  Since it’s a pattern for a boy’s wallet I probably should have made it a bit bigger.  But it was a fun project for my fabulous husband, the best guy around and such a fabulous father to these two crazy kids of ours.

5 thoughts on “J’s wallet

    • Thanks- it was such a fun little project and perfect for the short sewing sessions I can fit in these days! 🙂 You should give this tutorial a try- very clear and fun to use up little scraps. But I understand about sewing for big people- it’s such a big investment of time (and fabric!) and I don’t think my skills are quite up to it yet.

Leave a Reply

