A vintage knits set

Last spring, I made the modern baby bonnet and cabled booties from the book Vintage Knits for Modern Babies.  I love this book and there are so many fun projects (although they all seem to be knit flat and then seamed together rather than being in the round, so keep that in mind if you hate seaming).

DSC_0400

I tried the hat on O a month ago and it was huge!  So I knitted another hat with the same yarn but one size down and one needle size down.  I finished the new hat a few days ago and tried it on O.  And it fits, but is none too big.  And now the too-big one is only a tad bit too big.  Baby heads grow so quickly!

The 3-6 month hat on the left, 0-3 month on the right.  I love his cheeks!

modern baby bonnet :: lizzieville.wordpress.com

This is a great hat style (the chin strap means it doesn’t slide up like most hats).  Looks like we are all set for blue hats this season!  The booties are still a bit big but fit over socks.

cabled booties

I may even have enough of this skein left to eek out some little mittens to round out the set and be ready for some fall fun.

DSC_0420

DSC_0378

3 thoughts on “A vintage knits set

  1. Cute! Cute! Cute! What a beautiful baby! I love your knitting too. I have had my eye on that book for a while. I do dislike seaming though. I’ll have to keep thinking about it.

  2. Pingback: Catching up : a new season of knitting | lizzieville

Leave a Reply

