Felt bookmarks

We have a little group of families that we’ve been meeting with since E was a few months old.  All of the families had babies about E’s age when we started meeting and it has been so much watching all these kids grow.  It was our turn to host this month and I wanted to give a little gift to each family.  My original idea was to crochet bookmarks (because all the best bookmarks seem to be crocheted, not knitted).  And goodness, there are some funny crochet tutorials on YouTube!  But ultimately, learning how to crochet turned out to be kind of tricky, especially given my tight time schedule.  I eventually decided to make some felt bookmarks instead:

felt bookmark title : lizzievilleI cut a 2×6 inch piece of wool felt, fused to a rectangle of fabric with double-sided stiff interfacing.  I used pinking shears to cut the fabric and I’m hoping this will stop some fraying.  Both dot fabrics are from the Moda Marmalade line and the ornament fabric is from the Moda Merry and Bright line.feltbookmark:lizzieville

bookmark back : lizzieville

My husband helped me to add grommets to the top for a little yarn tassel.

bookmark tops : lizzieville

 My trial run was made from some leftover train print.  I think these bookmarks would be a good use of little scraps to make birthday and other gifts.

train bookmark : lizzieville

In addition to the bookmarks, I gave books from some of E’s favorite series:  Poppleton in WinterMr Putter and Tabby Catch the Cold, and Henry and Mudge and a Very Merry Christmas.  We are huge fans of Cynthia Rylant, and her Mr. Putter and Tabby, Poppleton, and Henry and Mudge series are all delightful.  These series are a late 1st/beginning 2nd grade reading level for kids reading on their own (and favorites of my 2nd graders when I was teaching) but E enjoys having me read me them to her, where I can explain some of the new vocabulary and support her comprehension.  If you have a 3-8 year old and don’t already know these series you might give them a try!

books and bookmarks : lizzieville

For Christmas gifts, E wrapped them up herself (3 year olds and tape, oh my!), and we were all set:

E wrapping books : lizzievilleI hope that your holiday gift preparations are going well!

6 thoughts on “Felt bookmarks

  1. I love this! We have 10 nieces and nephews. To keep things simple so that we stay sane and not broke, I get them each a book for Christmas. I have always wanted to make them a bookmark too but never got around to figuring out which kind to make. I think I will go with what you did! Thank you!

    • Yes, I think topstitching would look great! It was actually my plan initially, but then the interfacing held things so well (and the fabric and pinking shear ends were a bit busy) so I decided against the extra stitching. If you try some I’d love to see!

Leave a Reply

