This and that: Christmas knitting

As 2013 winds to a close I have a few holiday-related projects to share.  First up, some knitting.

I made this little set of felted bowls for a dear friend who just moved into a new home.  The smallest bowl follows the “tiny felted treasure bowls” pattern from The Rhythm of Family by Amanda Blake Soule.  My notes for the larger two bowls are here.

DSC_0474 DSC_0478 DSC_0482

I also made some Christmas mittens for E.  The thumbs are a bit wonky but totally functional.

DSC_0296 DSC_0268

They were quickly put to use for some sandy beach play last weekend.  This is the Family Mittens pattern and ever-fabulous madelintosh yarn.  So soft and the colors are lovely.

DSC_0329

DSC_0287 DSC_0382

Next up I’ve started a cowl… which might be my first-ever knitting projects for myself.  I’m not sure if I’m a cowl-wearing sort of person but I’m going to give it a try.

DSC_0241

I hope to share a bit more holiday sewing and crafting in the next few days before moving on to 2014.  Thank you so much to everyone who has read (and left kind comments!) this past year as I’ve tried out sharing my projects in this place.  I’m excited to continue creating and sharing and learning.  Happy New Year to you all!

3 thoughts on “This and that: Christmas knitting

  1. The bowls are great. I have never seen felted bowls. The mittens are sweet too. I used to knit my kids mittens but we have so much snow I always ended up buying them waterproof ones and they mostly wear those. What yarn are using for your cowl? It looks beautiful.

    • Felting is so fun- and I bet kids would enjoy watching. A smaller set of these bowls was my first knitting project a few years back and the felting covered up all kinds of issues! These mittens would definitely not hold up to much snow, so that makes sense. I love the weather here but I do wish we had more snow! The cowl is madelinetosh vintage. So nice to work with and the color variations in the pattern help disguise any unevenness in knitting.

  2. Pingback: Hats, mittens, and a sweater | lizzieville

Leave a Reply

