Baby bibs, three ways

Now that O has joined the dinner table I thought some new bibs were in order.  First, a messy kid bib from Little Things to Sew:

messy kid bib ::lizzieville

I used a snap for the closure as O rips off velcro bibs.  The front was made using iron-on vinyl, as suggested in the pattern.  I did manage to get a few stray threads stuck between the vinyl and the fabric so I’ll be more careful next time.  And I’m not sure if I picked a lower-quality vinyl but it tends to wrinkle up quite a bit with use.  Nothing like ironing your child’s bib.  But I do like the large size and this has become our go-to bib for O.

messy kid bib :: lizzievilleI also made a bapron from the Craftiness is not Optional pattern:

bapron :: lizzieville

This pattern is very clever and O makes zero attempts to pull the bib off.  You can see below how the bias tape wraps around the arms and ties in the back.  I made the smaller size, suggested for 6m-18m.  I wish I’d made the larger (24m-3t) size because this is snug.  I will make this pattern again in the larger size but with vinyl, as the shape is perfect but wipe-off bibs get more use around here.

bapron back :: lizzievilleBoth of these patterns were very straightforward.  My only frustration with both was on the bias tape application.  I’ve gotten into the habit of hand-sewing the finish on my bias tape because otherwise I can’t get things lined up nicely.  The stitching wavers and ends up missing the tape entirely in some places and running too close to the middle in others.  I applied the tape fully by machine in both cases and it is not pretty.  But functional for a bib, I suppose.

Finally I made an art smock, also from Little Things to Sew.  E wears her smock so much I figured O needs one too.  While she uses the smock now for cooking and art projects, when E was little we often used smocks as a bib because they stay put and have better sleeve coverage.

smock bib :: lizzieville

art smock pocket :: lizzieville

I made the small (fits up to size 3).  It is way too big on him now.  When I put it on him, E informed me that it looked like a dress.  I’m sure he’ll grow into it soon.  The only change I made to the pattern was adding length to the neck elastic as E’s has gotten a bit snug.

art smock :: lizzieville

O was done cooperating with photos by this point and tried to crawl away.

art smock ::lizzieville

I love the finish on this smock.  It is such a satisfying sew that I was going to make E another one in the next size up.  Then she saw the bias-trimmed apron from the same book and requested that instead.  Maybe that will be a good opportunity for me to conquer bias tape application.  It would also give me one more project (previous projects here) before the Little Things to Sew: Cover to Cover Challenge runs out at the end of August.

15 thoughts on “Baby bibs, three ways

    • Thanks! So far the snaps have held. And the baron pattern is quite clever and a really like the fit. O forgets that it’s on and so he doesn’t try to rip it off 🙂

  1. Very impressive! I love the first one, that bib with a crumb catcher/pocket at the bottom as well as the art smock. They look great and amazing. For sure everyone will definitely try them. Thank you for sharing!

  2. those are great! i look forward to seeing your bias-trimed apron, that’s such a cute one. and i never thought of using the art smock as a bib, smart idea. i’ve been meaning to make a larger sized bapron – i made a small one when oscar was about a year, and it was already snug on him. darn these huge babies, right? 🙂

    • Thanks! And yes, figuring out what size to make for this huge, growing boy has been quite a challenge! Some things are too small, and then other things are huge. Better too big, I suppose. He can always grow into the gigantic pants I just made him 🙂

    • The vinyl came from Pacific Fabrics, a local fabric chain. I bet that JoAnn or a similar larger fabric store would have it. It was on the bolt next to the interfacing and fusible fleece. I think bibs would make nice little gifts, if you didn’t want to wait for grandkids! 🙂

  3. Huh, I hadn’t heard of the cover to cover challenge – cool! Isn’t it satisfying to make something so practical:) Beautiful, professional quality, sewing as always Elizabeth. Very inspiring!

    • It is satisfying! I’m trying to focus on sewing practical things but sometimes I get distracted 🙂 And thank you for your very kind comment, Brienne! It means so much to me!

    • Now that is a fantastic idea. Thank you! It would be especially perfect for bibs. And I’d give up on bibs too except that I hate getting food stains out of clothes. Especially since I always forget until I’m taking things out of the dryer!

  4. These are gorgeous! All so cute and every one seems practical. (I especially find the crawling away in an oversized apron funny as babies just can’t crawl when their knees pin down the dress they’re wearing. hilarious to watch!)
    The book does seem to be all about mastering bias binding, doesn’t it?! I’ve just put a playmat in the wash that I made 6 years ago and looking at my bias binding application from back then I’m appalled! 🙂
    My trick is using 1/4″ fusible quilter’s edge (like fusible web only in a long roll of a narrow strip). By ironing the binding exactly in place to cover the first row of stitching, it’s easy to then do your neatest tpostitch and know that both sides are perfectly lined up and there are no pins in the way. It may not be the cheapest method out there, and the bias trimmed apron may yet test my love of my method. We’ll see. Yep, only 1 month to go!!

    • That is such a fantastic idea! I will have to look for some of that next time I’m at the store. I definitely need to give something a try because my best method of hand stitching would be completely impractical on the apron. And only one month left on the challenge- ack! I don’t know if I’ll get anything else made. But I might continue on as my own personal challenge to finish everything in the book at some point in the next few years.

  5. Pingback: Belated Christmas sewing | lizzieville

Leave a Reply

