End of summer sewing : a romper

E had a beloved romper, a gift from my sister, that she wore the past two summers and has now outgrown.  I wanted to make her a new romper this summer and showed E a couple different options.  As soon as I showed her Sanae’s lovely linen romper she told me that was the one.  Luckily they had this Japanese pattern book in stock at our Seattle Kinokuniya bookstore and I set to work.

romper : Lizzieville1

I skipping the faux pockets and buttons and added some length to the shorts.  Otherwise this is a size 110.   I figured that size 110 would be safe as 110 in European clothing and other Japanese patterns have either fit or are too big.  But I should have taken the time to translate the measurement chart in the book because the 110 barely fits E.  Next time I’d make a size up and add some length to the top of the shorts pieces and to the bodice.

romper : Lizzieville5

The fabric is Kaufman berry interweave chambray, left over from this apron.  I also used a Kaufman interweave chambray on a jumprope dress and I love the colors and the shimmer but I do wish it were a bit softer.

E has picked this out to wear a couple times since making it, so I think she’s pleased.  And while she thinks the ties are lovely, I have found them to be a bit of a hassle.  I shortened them from the pattern, which helped a bit, but they’re still not a practical wardrobe choice for a four year old.   They come untied constantly and she needs help for every bathroom trip.  To make this a more practical garment I might swap the ties out for some elasticized straps.

romper : Lizzieville4 romper : Lizzieville6

So, my future with Japanese patterns is still to be determined.  The styles can be delightful and the patterns are certainly a bargain.  But the fit seems iffy, which is a bummer after putting all that time into making the pattern pieces and deciphering the directions.  For this pattern, I think there was an error on the pattern pieces for the waistband and top band.   I also ended up constructing them a bit differently (I think) so that there were no raw edges on these parts.

romper : Lizzieville2

And now, a bit more summer sewing for O and then I’m ready to move on to fall.  It was cool and rainy this morning and I loved it.  This poor land needs some water.

6 thoughts on “End of summer sewing : a romper

  1. I am so impressed you made this from a Japanese pattern as it looks a little tricky to me. I love it. The ties are so cute but I think I will think about making a pattern with ties because of what you wrote. Stella has dress given to her from my mother-in-law. Because it is a dress she can go to bathroom by herself but she too young to not always be untying and fiddling with them. I love rompers. The one you made and your daughter are too cute!!!!

    • This had some definite tricky moments, especially in the cutting! E has decided she likes it best with the straps and then drapped off her shoulders because she says that makes it look like the princess dresses in Frozen. Whatever works, I guess!

  2. I have this book! I have made only two things from it so far but there are some lovely things in there aren’t there?
    E looks lovely in this romper, I will have another look at the pattern now!

    • I’d love to see the things you made! There are some great patterns in this book so I’ll probably give it another try. I especially like that there are some patterns for knit fabric.

  3. I have some of this chambray!! It’s lovely, and it looks even better made up into something, doesn’t it? This is so great. I have to admit, I haven’t gotten into the romper thing mostly because, well, isn’t it hard to go to the potty? Just wondering if this isn’t an issue for other folks …

    • Aren’t the colors in this chambray lovely! I ordered more in the sorbet color to make E a hopscotch skirt for fall. The romper is a bit of a pain for the bathroom, but E loves wearing it so much that it seems worth it!

Leave a Reply

