Catching up : baby boy sewing

In my continued effort to catch up on project sharing, I bring to you some sewing for O and for some dear friends having baby boys. The first gift was a pair of pants from the Oliver+S lullaby layette pattern: Lullaby layette pants: Lizzieville 11 These are size 6-12 months in Kaufman double cloth in indigo.  This double cloth is so soft and cozy and I want to use it for all kinds of projects in the future.  You can see the indigo and the white side here: Lullaby layette pants: Lizzieville 12 Lullaby layette pants: Lizzieville 13 And those pockets.  I love those pockets!  I’d say the sizing on this pattern is generous because O could actually squeeze into these.  Earlier in the summer I’d made him his own pair, in 18-24 months with 12 month length.  They’ve fit for a few months now with plenty more room to grow.  Here you can see a comparison of the two pants (shortened 18 month on the left, 6 month on the right): Lullaby layette pants : Lizzieville 1For O’s pair I used andover chambray and I love how lightweight but sturdy it feels.  I also appreciate that is wrinkles so much less than the interweave chambray and essex linen I’ve used a few times.  Here are a few shots of O in the garden this summer, enjoying his roomy pants: Lullaby layette pants : Lizzieville 2 Lullaby layette pants : Lizzieville 3For another gift I turned to an old favorite, the divided basket pattern from Noodlehead. This is my fourth go at this pattern (previous here and here) so it came together easily. My only change was to shorten the basket height by 1.5 inches as I’ve done before. The prints were from my stash and the main body is Kaufman essex linen in blue. Divided basket: Lizzieville 1 Divided basket: Lizzieville 2 I loaded it up with some diapers, wipes, zip sleepers, and patchwork wash cloths (you can see them better here) and it was ready to go: Divided basket: Lizzieville 3 Thanks for reading!  And now, back to work on E’s Halloween costume…

4 thoughts on “Catching up : baby boy sewing

Leave a Reply

