KCW : elusive moose

I spent most of Kid’s Clothes Week working on O’s Halloween costume and finally got it finished up and photographed to share.

0314-300-bear

The theme for this week was “Storybook” so I figured a book-inspired costume would be perfect for O.  One of his current favorites is The Elusive Moose by Joan Gannij and Clare Beaton.  It’s a charming little story and I quite like reading it to both kids.  The illustrations were created with felt and embroidery and little notions and O likes pointing at the different animals.  E loves finding the hidden moose in each picture, and I’ve even shared this book with my 2nd graders and they enjoyed it as well.

elusive moose : Lizzieville 1

I figured I could make something moose-like for O that could be reused beyond Halloween.  And so, my little moose:

elusive moose : Lizzieville 6

elusive moose : Lizzieville 2

I made a “cozy winter hood” from Little Things to Sew with enlarged ears and added antlers. The outside fabric is one of my old sweaters and the lining is shot cotton.  The antlers are felt and it took some trial and errors to get them to not flop over.  This is a straightforward pattern but I ended up spending quite a bit of time with the seam ripper.  I think the super-stretchy sweater is partly to blame but listening to the Serial podcast while sewing may also have been a factor.

elusive moose : Lizzieville 8

The sweater is the Oliver+S lullaby layette pattern in size 12-18 months, using the same recycled sweater and shot cotton as the hood.  This is a lovely little pattern, although I really want to try it with an added hood and maybe a reversible zipper or some elbow patches.  It is supposed to close with 3 snaps but I was completely out so I added a sew-in snap below a single button.

elusive moose : Lizzieville 10 elusive moose : Lizzieville 7

The pants are from the same lullaby layette pattern, size 18-24 months in Kaufman corduroy.  This is my third go at this pattern and I like the fit and the off-center seams in the front.  My only wish is that the waistband piece were a bit wider to make a taller casing.  The elastic is always rolling around, although I did tack it in a few places which helped a bit.

I also made a tee shirt using the Made By Rae Flashback Skinny Tee pattern in a size 18-24 months.  This is an old maternity tee and I intended to reuse the cuffs and bottom hem but then sewed the arms on backwards.  So I chopped the hem off and added cuffs, which ended up working nicely to tie in with an orange neckband.  This moose is my first freezer paper stencil.  I’ve long been intending to try freezer paper stencils but I am a slow mover.  I couldn’t find freezer paper locally and had to order some online.  I had also forgotten to buy fabric paint so I used a fabric marker instead.  I’m curious to see how it will last once washed.  I do love this flashback skinny tee pattern and I’m excited to make more for O.

elusive moose : Lizzieville 3

elusive moose : Lizzieville 9

And with that, our costumes are complete.  If I can convince O to keep his hood on.

elusive moose : Lizzieville 4

elusive moose : Lizzieville 5

My little monkey moose boy.

16 thoughts on “KCW : elusive moose

  1. Okay, my cute-o-meter is solidly in the red zone. Dangerous levels of cute here. The antlers! The t-shirt! The chubby cheeks! The chubby TOES! It’s overpowering. AAAAAGGGGGH. Well done, mama! Well done all around. That is one cute baby you’ve grown and dressed there.

  2. I agree with everything Inder said – this is insanely adorable! Every little bit of it! And he can wear all of it after Halloween – you’re a genius. Cutest little moose ever, totally worth all your hard work!! I want to check out that book too, it looks great. And a side note (maybe I told you this already?) – we checked out Three Tales of My Father’s Dragon at your recommendation and Lila love it so much, we read it over the summer and then just finished it a second time. So thanks!

    • Thank you, Gail! I was pleased that the pieces can be resused. And I’m so glad you liked the books! I’m always hesitant to recommend books but those sure were winners around here. Glad Lila enjoyed them!

  3. He is just so adorable – I can’t stand it. I extra love the second to last picture. I love everything about it. I love how both your kids costumes are so adorable and fun and still have your sewing style. So this has nothing to do with your post but I decided today to do the school days jacket sew along and make a coat for Luke since I don’t sew much for him and he doesn’t have a coat besides his snow coat. I bought some way to expensive wool without even seeing it – I ordered it over the phone. Nothing like an impulse sewing plan 🙂

    • Thank you! I feel like my personal sewing style is very slowly developing 🙂 And I’m so excited to see your coat! I was briefly tempted but neither kid needs a coat like that for this winter. But I’m excited that there will be a sew-along I can reference next year if O needs a winter coat!

  4. Perfect antlers! They are not easy to form, I know – I have been trying to make one myself:) Oh, and that Serial Podcast?? I cannot get enough. Cannot. Love. Love. And I usually don’t go for suspense or crime or whatever. That Sarah Koenig is a genius. Enjoy your week!

    • Thank you! Those antlers- man! I had to keep google imaging to figure out how they were situated with regard to the ears and how to make them not look like reindeer. A fun challenge, though. And I agree- I’m not much for mysteries either but here I am re-listening to the first 6 episodes of Serial while waiting for the next episode tomorrow!

  5. Pingback: Kid’s Clothes Week: October 2015 | Blog | Oliver + S

  6. Pingback: KCW : mini hudson + rowan | lizzieville

Leave a Reply

