KCW : mini hudson + rowan

0414-b-200-275-button-fall15

It’s Kid’s Clothes Week, fall edition.  The theme this time is disguise, perfect for Halloween. Unfortunately my children are indecisive about what they want to be so I’m just making some basics that can also be used as costumes.  Last year’s costumes (Anna and a moose) are still getting quite a bit of use as both regular and dress up clothing.  So I’m hoping to repeat that this year, making costumes that are really just things the kids need anyway.  Come to think of it, that’s kind of double disguise.  And a two-year old with no interest in standing still for pictures, even with help from his sister.

hudson + rowan : lizzieville3 hudson + rowan : lizzieville2

O may or may not be a cat, so I figured a gray top and bottoms would be a fine base. Both are made from Kaufman laguna jersey knit in heather gray with heather pepper trim. The pants are another pair of True Bias mini hudsons, this time in 3T.  I finished off the waistband mostly as recommended (the elastic on his other pairs tend to flip so I wanted to try the topstitching this time) except I ran twill tape in one buttonhole and directly out the other and tacked it down rather than running it all the way through.  The heather gray jersey felt particular soft and lovely and I much prefer the drape and fit of jersey to the french terry and sweatshirt fleece I used before.

hudson + rowan : lizzieville8

The top is my first try at the Rowan Tee from Titchy Threads.  I made a 2T with a little length added to the sleeves and hem.  This is a roomier fit than the flashback skinny tee  and the extra length was not really needed.  But this should ensure it gets a lot of wear and it even fits over a tshirt as in these pictures below.  I love the little shoulder band option and am imagining other fun color combinations.  This pattern has an impressive number of options and sizes.

hudson + rowan : lizzieville7 hudson + rowan : lizzieville6

For digging in the garden, being a cat, or whatever other costume they dream up at the last minute, this will at least be mighty comfy.

hudson + rowan : lizzieville5hudson + rowan : lizzieville4

4 thoughts on “KCW : mini hudson + rowan

  1. I applaud you for being able to sew something that is both practical and last minute costume ready. I wonder if that would ever work with my kids?? Probably not!

    • We shall see if it works out! I gave E an October 1st deadline if she required anything with elaborate sewing plans. It’s often cold and rainy here for Halloween so costumes are usually hidden under coats. And with no school dress up or parties planned that cuts down on the pressure to have interesting costumes!

  2. That’s a great little set and a perfect blank slate for a Halloween costume! A comfortable, re-wearable costume is really the way to go. I love the shoulder detail on the Rowan tee!

    • Thanks Gail! Nothing like sewing up a little sweatsuit. But I imagine both pieces will get lots of wear as mix and match with his other wardrobe items. And isn’t that shoulder detail fun? I want to try the arm stripe as well. You’ve got to take what you can get in terms of fun little details for boy sewing!

Leave a Reply

