Knits and cross stitch

Since sewing is slow these days I thought I’d pop in here and share a couple of other projects from this fall.  First, a little sweater for O.  This is a fawn hoodie in Cascade Eco wool (Ravelry notes here).

knits : lizzieville 4

knits : lizzieville 1

As per some other reviews the sizing on this one seems off.  I first cast on for a size 2 but realized it was going to be too small.  So this is a size 4, which actually seems like a size 2 with size 4 arms.  I enjoyed knitting with bulky yarn (nice and fast) and was happy to add my first zipper to a knit item.  The pattern originally closed with two buttons but I thought the zipper was a little less feminine.  I agonized over putting in the zipper (it took some blocking and there are a variety of hand stitching methods) but it ended up being quite easy.  So far O’s shown limited interest.  We shall see, seeing as it’s already getting short on his little belly.

knits : lizzieville 3

O has also outgrown most of his hats from last year, so here’s another go at the Purl Bee garter ear flap hat (Ravelry note here).  O hasn’t taken to this hat (he prefers to wear his sister’s hats) so E kindly modeled this one for a few pictures.

knits : lizzieville 5

I do really love this pattern (although again, I think it runs small).  It’s interesting and squishy and I love the shaping.  I also really love this Malabrigo yarn- great color variation and texture and not too heavy.

knits : lizzieville 6knits : lizzieville 7

Last up, I finished the Winterwoods ABC sampler from Alicia Paulson.  I loved this kit.  The materials were just so lovely.  The embroidery thread is hand-dyed with such beautiful color variation and the pictures are so sweet.  E really enjoyed watching me work on this and seeing the various letters and images take shape.

winterwoods : lizzieville 3

I now need to find the best place to put it up.  To be honest cross stitch turned out to be not my cup of tea (as E’s kindergarten teacher has the kids say), as it was hard to get into any rhythm when constantly counting tiny squares.   But the materials were so lovely that I may buy her new alphabet sampler anyway.

winterwoods : lizzieville 1

Looking at these pictures makes me ready for the cozy winter season. I may need to search out a little yellow tea kettle.  I think it was my favorite picture to complete.

10 thoughts on “Knits and cross stitch

    • Thank you, Nicole! I don’t find knitting quite as satisfying as sewing but it is wonderful in its own way. And certainly easier to pick up and put down than sewing when I have a spare minute.

  1. Your knits are lovely, and look oh so cozy – and nice job with the zipper! I really like the ear flap hat, although the one I made for my E last winter tends to rotate and she ends up with an ear flap over her eye:)

  2. I am very envious of people who can knit. You always make gorgeous things 🙂 Cross stitch was my first love when it comes to a needle and a thread 🙂

  3. I am enjoying getting caught up on your blog this morning 🙂 The cardigan is great and I love the color so much. I haven’t put a zipper in a knit item. I think I would find it hard. I love the hat. I made my kids a similar looking hat from the Purl Bee but not garter stitch. And Hooray for getting for your sampler finished! It looks great. I’ve been working on new sampler since May tough I think I took a five month break. I just started again. I enjoy it but the wholes are smaller so counting is harder.

    • Thanks for stopping by to comment, Christine! The zipper was a bit slow going (you had to block everything carefully first) but the actual sewing in wasn’t too hard. I had your finished sampler in mind as I was trying to get this finished. Now to get it hung up!

Leave a Reply

